My name is Becky and I have a serious addiction to to-do lists. I recognize that it is a problem, I'm just not sure what in the world I'm supposed to do without them. My brain is not what it used to be for sure, and I forget things at the drop of a hat. Thus, if I don't write them down they are as good as gone until something random happens that sparks a memory deep in the recesses of my brain that starts with 'wait, wasn't I supposed to do something...'. As a result, I've found that I now need to make more to-do lists, rather than less.
At work I have a to-do list, but that is usually sub-categorized into the 'must do' and the 'would like to do' lists, as well as the 'waiting on someone else to do' list, which is necessary because apparently people really have issues keeping their own to-do lists and so I have to remind them of what they are supposed to do for me. The problem is I have paper lists, prioritized e-mails lists, and then the list that is on the wall because me and my intern both need to work off it.
Then, I have my home to-do list, which has a subcategory grocery list, as well as a 'what I need to buy/do when we have the money in the budget' list. G-mail has these handy little stars you can put next to e-mails so I have my starred list of e-mails, which generally means something needs to be done about that, and if it's important enough it gets transferred over onto the paper to-do list.
Now, with my new part time job, I also have a church to-do list, which I tackled this evening. Because I haven't had one of these lists before I ended up just writing anything that came to mind on random pieces of paper, most of which actually made their way into my planner so they weren't lost. Those that were lost, I sat and tried to think of what was on that list, and made a new 'lost to-do list' list. Tonight, I attempted sub-categorizing that list into things I need to do, things I need to plan how to do, things I need to find, and things I need someone else to do for me. It needed to be done and it worked pretty well, but it took me a good 2 hours.
Do you see my dilemma? I have about 18 lists to keep track of, but if I combine them all into one list the 'would like to do at work' item may overshadow the 'have to do within the next week at home' item, and the new church duties that I'm not used to watching out for may be totally lost in the mix. As far as I can tell, it is what it is, life without to-do lists is just not something I want to attempt at this juncture in my life, and I'm not quite sure how to deal with the fact I have so many. I guess I could get a Blackberry, but I'm pretty sure that would just make it easier to have a million to do lists and calendar events, and I would get some kind of new finger disease from typing on a tiny keypad all the time and at the most inopportune time likely lose everything on the entire memory chip. Me and written to-do lists have made it this far, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt that they are coming back into style and that at some point I can minimize the number of them. Not probable, but I can always dream.
Speaking of which, good night. I've been sitting up waiting for my pictures to load onto Snapfish so I could order them during this excellent sale they were running, which ended today and thus needed to be done tonight. Thankfully, due to my lists I realized it just in time about 3 hours ago. To-do lists to the rescue again.
Sunday, May 31, 2009
Thursday, May 28, 2009
What Not to Do
You may remember me discussing my unacceptable, and yet, unending love of the show 'So You Think You Can Dance'. The auditions for this season started last week, so we have resumed our watching of more dancing than I watch in any given year with the exception of watching this show. During the auditions the judges choose who will go to Vegas for a chance to get into the top 20. I have determined there are a few ways to ensure that the person is NOT going to make it through to Vegas:
1) they say that they are going to show the judges something they have never seen before - they are professional dancers and dance judges, you shouldn't be able to show them anything they have never seen, if you do that means you made it up
2) they say that their style is a 'combination' of other styles - this can be translated to mean 'I don't actually know what styles are out there, and if I do know a few of them I can't do any of them well enough to say that that is my style'
3) you have to wear weird clothes or make-up in order to stand out - you are in a dance show, your dancing should stand out
Just thought I'd throw that out there because apparently people are a little confused about what makes a good audition.
1) they say that they are going to show the judges something they have never seen before - they are professional dancers and dance judges, you shouldn't be able to show them anything they have never seen, if you do that means you made it up
2) they say that their style is a 'combination' of other styles - this can be translated to mean 'I don't actually know what styles are out there, and if I do know a few of them I can't do any of them well enough to say that that is my style'
3) you have to wear weird clothes or make-up in order to stand out - you are in a dance show, your dancing should stand out
Just thought I'd throw that out there because apparently people are a little confused about what makes a good audition.
Popsicle Wisdom
Tuesday, May 26, 2009
Overweight Nation

For some reason doctor's offices like to take you out of the 'waiting room', where all the waiting items such as magazines are located, and move you into the room in the back, but then make you wait more. While I was waiting in the room with no magazines today entertained myself by reading all the stuff on the walls, one of which was a BMI calculator. Now, seeing as how I had just been weighed, I happened to know that I weigh 152 pounds(I hate when they move the 100 pound thing and slowly slide the single pound line along until it hits 50 and they have to move the 100 back and move the 150 over, and then start sliding the one pound again...I need to get back below 150 for many reasons, but this being the number one reason).
I looked down the BMI scale for my height of 5'6" and my weight, and find that interestingly enough I am teetering on the 'overweight' line. Yeah, not kidding you, I am on the edge of being overweight. Now, while I may joke about my weight, I do not actually believe that I'm fat. So I find it interesting that the BMI scale thinks that I am (or at least thinks that if I gain 2 pounds I will be). So here is my point to contemplate today...according to USA Today 62% of adults are overweight. While I know that there are a lot of overweight people out there, if we are considering people who are not actually overweight to be overweight we might be skewing the statistics a bit.
Monday, May 25, 2009
Saturday Morning Runs
I remembered what is was that I hated most about marathon training...Saturday morning runs. The idea of not only waking up at an unacceptable weekend hour, but then having to eat breakfast right away, and then head out for a run is just the last thing you want to have looming over you every week.
My sister was in town this weekend so she joined me on the 7 miler Saturday. Susan also joined the fun, which was quite nice to have not one but two support staff as I like to call my running partners. The problem was, support staff do not make the prospect of a Saturday morning long run any less stomach sickening. I woke up to the 5:30am alarm and my stomach was turning just knowing that I needed to get up an eat. I have issues making myself eat breakfast on a good day, I'm just not that hungry right when I wake up, but when you have to go run 7 miles, you better get something in your stomach, and fast because when you need to get the run over before the heat gets to full force you don't have all that much time to spare.
After forcing some cream of wheat into my body, we headed down to the greenway. I do have to say that the greenway is the one saving grace of long runs. There is something mentally more palatable by thinking 'I need to run 3.5 miles out and then 3.5 miles back', rather than thinking 'I need to run 7 miles'. This comes in especially handy when you are in the double digit Saturday runs.
We did in fact finish the run, quite comfortably, right at an 11 minute mile pace, which is pretty much par for the course for Brandy and I. Afterwards we walked a bit to cool down and drink some water, stopped by Starbucks (which is right beside the greenway) for an iced coffee and I headed off for a training at church, while Brandy finished up some grad school work. The rest of the weekend was filled with glorious scrapbooking, including our first 'for hire' book. Susan had us crop her and Brian's engagement trip to France, which was VERY FUN! We also finished all my California pictures, which means Brandy and I are both 'caught up' in scrapbooking time.
Today I cleaned up after our mess (which generally has little chance of being cleaned up while we are cropping), found we have two leaks in our laundry room, had Sandor start on fixing the leak in the bathroom, and am now headed for bed. Only 5 more days until another Saturday morning run, though, which really makes a Tuesday morning look a whole lot better. I guess everything has it's perks, right?
My sister was in town this weekend so she joined me on the 7 miler Saturday. Susan also joined the fun, which was quite nice to have not one but two support staff as I like to call my running partners. The problem was, support staff do not make the prospect of a Saturday morning long run any less stomach sickening. I woke up to the 5:30am alarm and my stomach was turning just knowing that I needed to get up an eat. I have issues making myself eat breakfast on a good day, I'm just not that hungry right when I wake up, but when you have to go run 7 miles, you better get something in your stomach, and fast because when you need to get the run over before the heat gets to full force you don't have all that much time to spare.
After forcing some cream of wheat into my body, we headed down to the greenway. I do have to say that the greenway is the one saving grace of long runs. There is something mentally more palatable by thinking 'I need to run 3.5 miles out and then 3.5 miles back', rather than thinking 'I need to run 7 miles'. This comes in especially handy when you are in the double digit Saturday runs.
We did in fact finish the run, quite comfortably, right at an 11 minute mile pace, which is pretty much par for the course for Brandy and I. Afterwards we walked a bit to cool down and drink some water, stopped by Starbucks (which is right beside the greenway) for an iced coffee and I headed off for a training at church, while Brandy finished up some grad school work. The rest of the weekend was filled with glorious scrapbooking, including our first 'for hire' book. Susan had us crop her and Brian's engagement trip to France, which was VERY FUN! We also finished all my California pictures, which means Brandy and I are both 'caught up' in scrapbooking time.
Today I cleaned up after our mess (which generally has little chance of being cleaned up while we are cropping), found we have two leaks in our laundry room, had Sandor start on fixing the leak in the bathroom, and am now headed for bed. Only 5 more days until another Saturday morning run, though, which really makes a Tuesday morning look a whole lot better. I guess everything has it's perks, right?
Friday, May 22, 2009
Maia's Early Birthday Present
What better way to spend a friday afternoon than heading out of work early for a pedicure and a coffee?
Mobile post sent by walkerszivak using Utterli.
Wednesday, May 20, 2009
Motivation
I have to say - I am TOTALLY lacking in self motivation recently. I'm not sure if it was my stint in jury duty that threw me off my game, the fact that the weather is flip flopping between June and April temperatures week by week, the procrastination bug due to the fact that most of what I'm working on has due dates far in the future, or just a normal dip in self motivation levels, but life is just not working for me. Hence the blog entry during the middle of the day. I know that I should get back to work, but ugh, the misery of it. Perhaps that is why I was drawn to the self control proverbs during my reading this morning...yeah yeah, 'Like a city whose walls are broken down is a man who lacks self control', I get it, I'll get back to work...
Wednesday, May 13, 2009
One Last Season
In case you can't tell I am obsessed with LOST. Not minorly obsessed. We are talking, rearrange my schedule so I can watch a TV show obsessed. Tonight was the season finale and I have still not really come to terms with the fact that next year will be the last season. Until then I will leave you with Sandor's wrap-up of this season finale...
'So, Jacob is presumed dead, Locke is not Locke, and they just blew up the past'
The fact that those three statements sum up what we just watched for the last 2 hours is why I love this show. It's why many people can't stand it, but it's why I am totally and utterly, head over heels, stars in my eyes, in love with LOST.
P.S. I will observe a day of mourning when the show does in fact end, similar, but with more gusto than the mourning I observed when Sandor and I finally finished all the DVDs of Six Feet Under. Do not try to persuade me against this, you will fail.
'So, Jacob is presumed dead, Locke is not Locke, and they just blew up the past'
The fact that those three statements sum up what we just watched for the last 2 hours is why I love this show. It's why many people can't stand it, but it's why I am totally and utterly, head over heels, stars in my eyes, in love with LOST.
P.S. I will observe a day of mourning when the show does in fact end, similar, but with more gusto than the mourning I observed when Sandor and I finally finished all the DVDs of Six Feet Under. Do not try to persuade me against this, you will fail.
Tuesday, May 12, 2009
Career Fair Q&A
Remember that career fair that I was supposed to go to? Thanks to jury duty, Anna went in my place. She sent me an e-mail with some of her favorite questions and answers...
Anna: What do you want to be when you grow up?
4th grade boy: Well, I usually say Dunkin' Donuts or something like that
Kids: Are those animals dead?
Anna: Yes they are now, they are our teaching displays so we can talk to you about what they do in the ocean when they were alive
Kids: Oh, did you kill them?
Blaik: What do you want to be when you grown up?
5th grade girl: A ghost whisperer
(this girl also happened to know way more about mako sharks and teeth identification than many biologists I know)
Anna: What do you want to be when you grow up?
4th grade boy: Well, I usually say Dunkin' Donuts or something like that
Kids: Are those animals dead?
Anna: Yes they are now, they are our teaching displays so we can talk to you about what they do in the ocean when they were alive
Kids: Oh, did you kill them?
Blaik: What do you want to be when you grown up?
5th grade girl: A ghost whisperer
(this girl also happened to know way more about mako sharks and teeth identification than many biologists I know)
Monday, May 11, 2009
Weekend Sports
This weekend was apparently exercise inspiring...

and, we got Sandor a bike and headed out for a nice ride together...unfortunately the rain started before we ended, but when it's warm outside, rain isn't all that bad!
Nikole won three gold medals at the Spring Special Olympics swimming event on Saturday (and even let my dad take a picture of her, which is in itself amazing!)
and, we got Sandor a bike and headed out for a nice ride together...unfortunately the rain started before we ended, but when it's warm outside, rain isn't all that bad!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

